h1

[Single] Nightmare – a:Fantasia

2010年 6月 28日

Hoho! It’s about time Nightmare put something new out! So, if you’ve been keeping up with their releases, the last couple were fairly disappointing to me. Can’t really say much about their cover here, but I think it’s nice.

a:Fantasia is a pretty fast paced song. Nightmare has great band parts, especially guitars. They have intricate lines in this song and the bass in this song is very active too. Yomi’s vocals are great as always. His vibrato bothers me sometimes though… It’s a bit wide and very consistent. Not saying that it’s bad, but that consistency gets to me after a little. This works in his favor though so whatever. It’s a great song!

Romeo is also a very active song. It starts with a very deep, bass-heavy introduction and then proceeds to include the guitars. The guitars just go crazy in this song! Haha, awesome stuff. I think that the vocal melody is great too. Nice build-ups and stuff. The bass, the bass, the bass… Love hearing active bass lines. I never get bored of what Ni~ya plays in this song.

Rover, the complete contrast to the other two songs. It’s soft and slow. This song has a much more light accompaniment. More repeated chords and stuff, but that’s good for this style. The into to this song reminds me of Yasou Kyoku from their album Killer Show, but it takes a different approach after those few seconds. The melody is soft and melancholy. Guitar solo! Very simple, but effective ending.

Overall: Nightmare fails to disappoint me with this single. I love it! They seem to be reaching back into their previous style.

Rating: 10/10

Tracklist:
1.) a:Fantasia
2.) Romeo
3.) Rover

-KWZ

2 comments

  1. This single is soooo good! I love Yomi’s vibrato. It takes some getting used to. More than that, I love the way he trills his r’s in some songs. “Romeo” has several examples of that.

    Amazing single, and outstanding review!


  2. I was so happy when I heard this new single! I absolutey love the cover art for it, since it’s so simple and so far my favorite song is ‘Rover’. I always loved Nightmare’s more slow pace songs.



Leave a Reply

