h1

Koda Kumi- Gossip Candy

2010年 6月 24日

Weee colors 😀

Yes I finally have it. Gossip Candy. I’m still waiting for my copy to come in the mail, but until then this will suffice. Anyway, on to the review! This is a pretty “typical” Koda Kumi release in terms of single structure. We don’t really have an “a-side,” but we’ve got lots of new work to listen to. Lollipop is definitely the dirtiest song on the single, with lots of fun synth and edge. This song is comparable to lots of her other dirty summer songs, but I think this one stands out because it’s so damn catchy. Idk how I feel about Kuu rapping during the verses, but hey, not bad!

I think I was looking forward to the “fishbowl” tracks the most when I listened to the previews. Inside Fishbowl has a great summer flavor, but instead of the hip-hop of the first track we listen to more of her pop side. The chorus and the bridge are the highlights of this song. Great song!

We kind of have a Yume no Uta/Futari de thing going on with the fishbowl tracks, as they’re the same melody and lyrics. Outside Fishbowl is very similar to its counterpart, but a lot of the notes are inverted (a term for all you classically trained musicians). Basically this song is a bit deeper than Inside Fishbowl, and IMO a little edgier.

For You is a smooth R&B ballad that pays homage to Kuu’s earlier years. While I’m not a huge fan of this style, I think this song is very well done. It’s the right type of song for this single… chill and laid-back. Sometimes Kuu’s voice sounds a little whiny, but not too bad overall. Also, sometimes she dabbles into the upper vocal register, which doesn’t always work for her.

Last but not least, the highly anticipated Got to Be Real, a cover of Cheryl Lynn’s classic. Actually, this is a great cover for a couple of reasons. One: You can immediately tell it’s a cover. Two: You can recognize the original song, but Koda Kumi made it her own. I was a little worried at first because I was unsure if Kuu could match Cheryl’s soulful voice, but Kuu holds her own here. Of course I still prefer the original, but this is as close to Cheryl that you can get from Kuu.

Overall: I’m thoroughly impressed. There’s something for everyone on this single. Kuu’s vocals could have used some tweaking on songs like For You, but otherwise this is a great single.

Rating: 9.5/10

Track list:

  1. Lollipop
  2. Inside Fishbowl
  3. Outside Fishbowl
  4. For You
  5. Got to Be Real (Cheryl Lynn cover)
8 comments

  1. Good job with your review! I wasn’t as impressed with this single, but I like that we disagree so that I can see another perspective on this release. 🙂

    I did like her cover of Got to Be Real because it wasn’t a copy-and-paste of the original song. Kuu made it her own. Props to her!


    • I think I’ve always been a sucker for her summer releases though. My Koda Kumi reviews are almost always more favorable than everyone else’s xD


      • I will admit that Kumi is the face of summer singles for me.


      • Oh I agree too, Alisa but I felt like she disappointed me with this single.


      • You and me both. X3 I’m biased as can be in my review. <.<

        Though, I was nervous about 'Got To Be Real'. She performed it FLAWLESSLY during her UNIVERSE concert, so it was understandable that the track version would be awesome. However, I'm always biased towards the originals. X3


  2. Were you really impressed? I was the opposite. I felt like it was one of the worst summer single she ever did though I think Lollipop is growing on me the most.

    My review of the previews is here.


    • I wouldn’t say I’m a Koda Kumi stan… but I’m pretty close xD. The only song I didn’t really like was “For You,” but everything else was fine with me.


      • Oh I see, somehow Lollipop’s chorus is going into my head but…that’s it.



Leave a Reply

