h1

SID- Rain

2010年 6月 22日

I love the watercolor affect on the cover… it fits the single perfectly.

To be honest, I was a little upset when I saw that SID would get another song on the OST for Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood. That is… until I heard the song. Rain is one of the best songs of the year IMO. Rain is a mid-tempo pop-rock song, reminiscent of Kagrra,’s style. The verses are sad and quiet while the chorus is upbeat and uplifting. I love how this songs combines a very Asian sounding chorus with guitars and violins alike. This song fits FMA perfectly, and even if you aren’t a fan of the anime you will like this song.

Cut, the first b-side, is just as catchy as Rain. This song,however, is much more rooted in its upbeat guitars. I’m not a huge fan of Mao’s voice, but I think he handles himself pretty well in this song. This song has same bitter-sweet quality as the first song, but much more upbeat. It compliments the A-side well.

I’m not familiar with the last song, a live version of Chapter 1, but from the looks of it the audience sure loves it. I loved the live violins in this song, even though it seemed like the guitars were a little minimized.

Overall: Excellent work from a band I normally don’t listen to!
Rating: 9/10

Track list:

  1. Rain
  2. cut
  3. chapter 1 (Live from “Ichiban Suki na Basho 2010″)
Leave a Reply

