h1

Poll Results: A lot of Jpop/rock artists are MIA. Who do you most want to see come back? (show some indie love)

2010年 3月 14日

Recently we asked, A lot of Jpop/rock artists are MIA. Who do you most want to see come back? (show some indie love). I had been browsing through my music library, thinking of artists whom I haven’t seen in a long time. This ones came up first in my mind, but there are many others to the list. Here are the results:

  1. I was kind of surprised (though pleasantly) when I saw that Yaida Hitomi got the most votes. She herself garnered 20, taking 32% of all votes.
  2. A close second, OLIVIA, with 14 votes, 22%.
  3. Mai Hoshimura, 13, 21%
  4. Hitomi Takahashi, 7, 11%
  5. WaT, 5, 8%
  6. Mai Fukui, 2, 3%
  7. MinK, 2, 3%
  8. Lastly, the remaining artists garnered 0 votes (boo): ELLEGARDEN, Yifei, AcQua EP/AGE-OF-EP, Kana (Moon), Miwa Sasagawa.

MinK and Mai Hoshimura weren’t added to the original voting because I forgot about them. Nevertheless I was glad people voted for them in the end. Mai Hoshimura’s contract with Sony last Spring. I hope she comes back soon though because I miss her refreshing sense of music. I have a feeling some artists didn’t get a lot of votes because people simply didn’t know who they were. Mai Fukui, for example, is an extremely talented songstress who released one of my favorite albums of 2009. ELLEGARDEN is an indies jrock band with whom everyone should be familiar. They have been on an “activity pause” for a couple of years because of differences in musical interpretation (however they will be performing in this year’s SXSW festival in Austin, Texas). Since then various members have ventured into solo-projectland, forming excellent bands like Nothing’s Carved in Stone. I didn’t expect many people to know Yifei either. She is a Chinese actress/singer who released an album and a single way back in 2006. Nevertheless All My Words is an absolute MUST LISTEN in my book. She has kind of a mellow sound and I hope she’ll return in the future. Another artist I forgot to mention was Miwako Okuda. She released two albums (in 2005 and 2006 respectively), but we haven’t seen anything from her since. Basically if you like Yaida Hitomi you’ll like her.

Anyway, here’s to these talented artists making a return on the market!

~Aoliwa

Leave a Reply

