h1

BENI- Sign

2010年 1月 23日

So I have SAT IIs tomorrow and to relax I’ve decided to write another review just before I go to sleep. This is my first single from “BENI.” Back in 2007 or so I listened to her album Gem when she was known as Beni Arashiro. I didn’t really click with her music so I ended up getting rid of it. I’m pleased to say that this single definitely makes me want to listen to more BENI!

The cover is all around very elegant. Her outfit is pretty too.

Sign opens up as kind of a traditional ballad. The main melody isn’t too original, but pretty nonetheless. We have strings and piano of course, but because BENI does R&B we get a nice rhythm throughout the song. BENI has a really pretty voice; it reminds me a lot of Miliyah Kato’s.

Goin’ luv u is a pretty cute song, despite its horrendous title. The song is an upbeat love song with clapping throughout. My only complaint is that some of the background drums sound like they came out of an amateur music program.

Lastly, we have another edition of the re-cut A-side, KIRA☆KIRA☆ DJ HASEBE remix. I listened to the original version of this song on youtube so I could compare. Firstly, the new version is much more R&B geared. I disliked the “One-two-one-two” vocals in the background. Like many others I agree that KIRA☆KIRA☆ is kind of a weak song (but hey… it wasn’t her choice to recut it!) so there’s not much you can do in a remix for it.

Overall: I think I’ll go get the rest of BENI’s new material now!

Rating: 8/10

Track list:

  1. Sign
  2. Goin’ luv u
  3. KIRA☆KIRA☆ DJ HASEBE remix
  4. Sign (inst)
Leave a Reply

