[Album] Girugamesh – Now

2010年 1月 15日

Well, I have no idea why they did a cover like this, but whatever.

The intro to this album now was kind of strange. It starts with a distorted recording in English and goes into a techno beat with some spread out heavy guitar chords. At the end, it immediately segues into…

bit crash. It starts out with the same sort of synthesized/electro feel then transitions into giru’s usual style of rock. A bit on the heavier side and with more bass presence. Pretty short song, but I like it.

NO MUSIC NO REASON sounds more like one of their songs from their previous album MUSIC. They employed electro effects to go with rock. There is much less vocal range in their verses on this song though. Closer to the end they play a short heavy rock riff.

The next song, ALIVE, was a single. It seems to follow their traditional style. Vocals are sung, kind of rapped/spoken fast, and shouted out. The band plays a pretty repetitive accompaniment. It fits well with what Satoshi sings, but if it were by itself… I don’t know. Near the end there is a short section in which the band drops out and it’s pretty much electro with vocals.

I think i can fly… My first thought is that song ‘I believe I can fly’. Anyway, it starts off with a synthesized intro and turns into a heavier rock song. The tempo is slower than the others thus far, which makes it kind of a relief. Great song in my opinion. The vocals are good and the accompaniment of it is more interesting.

The next song, BEAST makes use of some female voices introducing and later making entrances throughout the song. Again, the band’s part is on the repetitive side, but with Satoshi it’s okay. They break off later to do a short heavier section that is more instrument based.

Acoustic guitars in a Girugamesh song? That’s pretty unusual, but very welcome to the ears. nobody is somewhat similar to crying rain. Satoshi raps a little bit in the beginning and then sings. The chorus of this song is what reminds me of crying rain.

Suiren was the b-side to the single, BORDER. It starts off with a short intro with guitar and some electronic effects then transitions into a catchy tune. There are vocal parts that sound like they would be in a pop song, but it’s still completely rock. A short guitar solo is about 3/4 of the way through. Near the end the band’s harmonies become a bit more interesting.

Next we had DIRTY STORY. It started off with a synthesized, then full-band intro. Synth completely drops out after  short time. The guitar tone is on the heavier side and vocals are rather interesting. “I want to be a sincere man” is shouted out. Overall, a good song.

GAME is another song which is more spoken/rapped than actually sung. Satoshi does it to a very bass-heavy accompaniment. Approaching the middle we get some variation, vocals are sung more prominently and the guitars do more complex melody/harmony.

driving time is a more active song. We hear some slap-bass throughout the song. Aoliwa said that the chorus of this song was similar to one of Uverworld’s. I don’t think that they did this on purpose though.

Last up was arrow. The intro is somewhat misleading being minor but then actually playing in a major key. This song is catchier than the rest and the vocals stand out much more. The guitars are also more interesting to listen to. More overall complexity make this a great song.

Rating: 8.5/10


  1. “NOW [Intro]” 1:40
  2. “bit crash” 2:22
  3. “NO MUSIC, NO REASON” 3:41
  4. “ALIVE” 4:46
  5. “I think I can fly” 3:39
  6. “BEAST” 3:14
  7. “nobody” 3:44
  8. “Suiren” 3:52
  9. “DIRTY STORY” 3:30
  10. “GAME” 3:43
  11. “driving time” 3:57
  12. “arrow” 4:10


  1. Umm…actually on dirty story, He’s shouting out “I wanna be a Sincere man” not sexual man.

    • hahaha nice catch… I’ll edit that


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: