h1

Nana Mizuki (The Alchemists)- Theme of Lan Fan

2009年 12月 24日

Now who is at on the cover some might ask? It’s Lan Fan, the kick-ass body guard from Xing from Full Metal Alchemist: Brotherhood. In my opinion Lan Fan is one of the strongest female characters in anime today.

Both songs are by Japan’s most famous seiyuu, Nana Mizuki. In accordance with a number of other seiyuus from FMA, Nana-chan has created a single in honor of her character, Lan Fan. Despite the fact that these songs are for an anime, Nana has departed from the typical anime sound. She opts for real instruments instead of synth. Sorakaze opens us up with some electric guitars. It seems intense at first, but the verses are much more ethereal with the acoustic guitars and background synth. I have a little problem with the chorus in the song because it returns to the electric guitar feel and Nana’s voice doesn’t seem to match it too well.

Sotto, sotto is the better of the two tracks. It too uses acoustic guitar during the verses. It’s all very calm and peaceful until we get to the chorus. The chorus is more descriptive of Xing and Lan Fan. It’s upbeat with an imperial feel to it. It reminds me of horses galloping with the all the clapping and guitar rhythms. My only complaint is that this song is too short!

Overall: A solid single from Nana-chan, but sotto, sotto takes the cake.

Rating: 8.5/10

Track list:
1. Sorakaze
2. Sotto, sotto

2 comments

  1. I just LOVR Nana Mizuki. Whenever I get bored of music (I know, shoot me know), I listen to her and it perks me right back up. I usually don’t listen to her anime releases. The only one I have heard was Black Diamond (both majot version and indies version). I do like this single though. It’s way different than her newers stuff where she pulls a Hitomi Shimatani and mixes classical in upbeat songs. Sotto, sotto is AMAZING and like you said, too short. I can’t want for PHANTOM MINDS and Silent Bible though!


    • I thought of Hitomi Shimatani too (like when she did Shinku A.C.E 3 version).

      PHANTOM MINDS is good too… it kind of refers back to her older style.



Leave a Reply

