h1

Miliyah Kato- WHY

2009年 12月 2日

I love these covers! Kind of an eclectic mix, but I’m glad it doesn’t look like her typical covers (which are pretty btw). Different is good =]

WHY is definitely a change from what Miliyah usually does. That being said, this is one of the strongest singles I’ve ever heard from her. Rather than a bunch of R&B elements we get some nice progressive guitars in the background (they perfectly match the grunge feeling in the PV). Miliyah’s vocals are on par, showing that she can do more than just R&B. The chorus is very catchy, frequently repeating “Doushite…” the translation for “why.” While the verses are very serious, the chorus has a more uplifting feel. Excellent track and a perfect sequel to SAYONARA Baby.

Destiny is something I’d expect from Miliyah, as it’s a melancholy R&B song. We get some more R&B elements, but piano is prevalent throughout the song. I really like the choruses despite the synth. It’s hard to say whether I like this song or WHY more because they’re so different.The only thing I don’t like is the intentional choppy-ness of certain parts of the song.

You Don’t Know Me is a throwback to some of her older R&B stuff like Sotsugyou. We hear a lot of rapping from Miliyah, so her voice doesn’t have too much dimension in this song. Personally I thought her vibrato during the chorus was a little lackluster, but overall a good song. Her English is pretty good… but kinda funny when she says “nobody cares me” xD

Overall: I’m just getting back into Miliyah Kato’s work, and I was definitely impressed with the improvement she’s made.

Rating: 8.5/10

Track list:

1. WHY
2. Destiny
3. You don’t know me
4. WHY (instrumental)

Leave a Reply

