h1

Sayuri Sugawara- Ano Hi no Yakusoku

2009年 10月 22日

This is my first single from Sayuri-chan, but it definitely won’t be my last! I’m not really an R&B kind of person at all… but I think Sayuri-chan is very versatile. Originally I discovered her by learning that she’ll be doing the theme for FF XIII. Yay! Also, can I say that this is a beautiful cover? It’s simple, elegant, and classy… one of the best I’ve seen all year. Alright, into the review!

Ano Hi no Yakusoku mean “that day’s promise” so the title isn’t necessarily original. The song begins with a melancholy piano solo, and right away you can tell it’s going to be an emotional song. After Sayuri’s intro the song sweeps into a typical R&B format. The song sounds like something Miliyah Kato would do.  I don’t have much to say this song, mostly because it’s my first single from Sugawara. I’ll have to wait to here more in order to level it against her other work. It’s a strong song and I hope she keeps it up.

Arigatou is a cheery song with more of a pop feel. I didn’t enjoy it as much, simply because I thought it lacked the originality of the A-side. It’s more of your run-of-the-mill upbeat b-side.

Overall: A-side is strong, but the b-side could have been done by any artist.

Rating: 7/10

One comment

  1. I really loved the A-side. I agree with you on “Arigatou”. I think Sayuri has tons of potential and I’m eagerly awaiting her tie-in single with Final Fantasy XIII. Oh and I added you guys to my blogroll. Nice blog you have going! ^^ Hope to see more reviews.



Leave a Reply

