h1

[single] Koda Kumi- Alive/Physical Thing

2009年 10月 5日

“Alive/Physical Thing” is Koda Kumi’s 6th double A-side, released on September 16, 2009. “Alive” is being used as the theme song for the film adaptation of  “Kamui the Ninja.” “Alive/Physical Thing” is Kuu-chan’s 8th #1 single. Yaaay for Kuu-chan.

* * *

Can I say that I love these covers? I think she looks angelic in these (probably due to the white, feather-y outfit). I love the juxtaposition of the delicateness of Kuu and the roughness of the terrain around her.

Alive took me by surprise when I first heard it. I was expecting one of her “sexy” songs like Juicy. However since “3 Splash” she’s been making some interesting title choices (I’m pretty sure we all thought the same thing when we saw the song title, Lick Me.) Alive, however, is a slow song in a major key. I would go so far as to call it a ballad, and I think that term is used too liberally these days. Alive doesn’t have the kind of climax or the sweeping phrasing used in her ballads (her best being Unmei and Yume no Uta). Alive makes use of a lot of baroque elements, such as the harpsichord. Alive is a “pleasant” song, but nothing much to brag about. I don’t think it’s a complete failure, and I actually kind of like it. However, this isn’t up to her typical standards. I think I would have liked it more had it been longer, giving room for more variation and a climax.

Physical Thing has a lot more presence than Alive. It’s an upbeat, sexy track that commands more attention. I can’t help but laugh every time Kuu tries to sing “keep it real simple.” Her English is at the same level it was for That Ain’t Cool. Not my style, but some people like it. I don’t have much to say about Physical Thing, mostly because I think she could have done better. I’ll keep my hopes up for her next single.

Overall: If you are one of the few who has never heard a Koda Kumi song, this isn’t your place to start. Had this single been tweaked a little, I think I would have enjoyed it a great deal.

If you liked this, try these by Koda Kumi: Ai no Uta, Juicy, Under

Rating: 6/10

Tracklist

1. “Alive”       3:43
2. “Physical thing”       3:01
3. “Alive (Instrumental)”       3:42
4. “Physical thing (Instrumental)”       3:00
5. “TRICK (Live Version From Trick Tour 2009) (CD Only First Press Bonus Track)”       3:06
6. “Joyful (Live Version From Trick Tour 2009) (CD Only First Press Bonus Track)”

Leave a Reply

